Homework 2

Who are the storytellers in your family? What are their stories for?

Who are the storytellers in your community? What are their stories for?

(Write your response (50-100 words should be enough) in a word document then cut and paste it in the response box and post it. It is easy to lose text while posting a response, so make sure it is saved elsewhere. Your response may not appear immediately, as I may need to approve it the first time. Please also use your real name –the first, at least– so that I know who you are and can give you the grade for your work. You will not be graded here on spelling or grammar, but do your best!)

About susanbriscoe

English teacher, writer
This entry was posted in Homework. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Homework 2

  1. In my family the main storyteller has to be my mother, she is always telling me her crazy times out drinking when she was younger. So far she has told me how she saved a mans life, started a barroom brawl, and how she beat up somebody trying to mug her. My mothers storytelling could use some work in giving more details but overall she is the one who tells the stories. At least in my immediate, “nuclear family”

    The storyteller in my community has to be Kanentokon Hemlock, also known as “Watias”. He is a great teller of many stories, telling me the creation story of Shawiskara and Tharonhiawakon and many more stories.

    Like

  2. Scorching_ACE-01 says:

    The story tellers in my family would probably be my father because through his entire life he has learned so much from his father which he believes is his role to teach me life lessons. He usually explains his stories back when he was my age so he could compare our similarities so it’s easier to resemble similar situations or he would just bring up his 30 years of military history whenever I bring up stuff about giving up, being in tough situations. Those stories usually work the most since he’s kind of like guilt tripping me because of him seeing some of his closest friends dissappear and going through rough training to getting to the rank he’s at now.

    The story tellers in my community, “Kahnawake” are usually the elders or the grown ups that have accomplished a great deal of goals over there life span. For example my high school Kanien’keha teacher Kanentokon Hemlock was a great man who inspired a lot of people by accomplishing what our community needed most, a fluent speaker in our native tongue. He played many sports in younger days but mostly focused on his language speaking and he’s also a representative for our communities high school, “KSS” and a cheif for our nation. He teaches us old stories starting from the creation of our earth, the battle/ creation of good and evil (shawiskara & tharonhiawakon) to the present day.

    Like

  3. If I had to say who the storyteller is in my family, it would have to be my grandmother. She always had the best stories to share, it was mostly about the old days and how different it was compared to now. Before she passed, she always gave my mother and I some new stories even if it was just a recipe, she’d always tell us a background on why she loved to eat a certain food.

    There is always going to be a storyteller in Kahnawake, so its hard to pick just which one. My grandmother’s best friend Leo always has good stories about skywomen and how the earth came to be. Most of the things he says are in Kanienkeha and some in English. I like hearing his stories because it feels like I have a piece of my grandmother with me

    Like

  4. karahkwinetha says:

    In my family there is no one specific storyteller, but storytellers, plural with an ‘s’. In my family, we meet every Sunday night at 6 o’clock for dinner at grandma’s. We eat, talk about current events, issues, and etc.…the point I am trying to make is that, there is never a specific category that the stories are organized for. They are constantly changing, just like current events. The stories at dinner may relate to one event on a day or to another different day. They are used for entertainment, to amuse or to pass on information.

    My Tota, Ida Goodleaf, was a great storyteller. We use to sit at the dining room table on many nights, playing cards and listening to her stories. She was the keeper of the books, the one who held the history of the families in the community. She told the stories of the families, the grandparents, great grandparents, aunts and uncles. She taught people about the connections to each other.

    The storytellers in my community, are most often the elders. It is always interesting to listen to a story told by an elder, because some of the stories, or maybe even their own and others may have been past down from generations. Elders such at Darryl Thompson or Joe McGregor, are the storytellers we wish we could be. They not only convey images in their stories, but also clearly pass on the message or lesson with it. They teach the history of our people in the most amusing ways. Darryl can bring you through the Creation Story, making you laugh through it, and bringing the lessons up to date to fit our world. Joe lulls you with his stories of people and the community, and through his telling, teaches you about community values.

    Like

  5. Autumn Glasgow says:

    When I come to think of it, I think that the story teller’s would be the elders in my family. Not just my grandparents but my aunties, uncles and my Mother as well. I believe this because throughout my life I grew up hearing stories, whether it be for my own good or just to have a good laugh, either way it was told by them. They’ve told so many stories and now that I’m old enough to understand they’ve only ever told us (my cousins and siblings) these stories to keep us out of trouble and to ultimately make the right decisions and choices in life. They knew what they were talking about whether we decided to listen to them or not listen to them.

    A story teller in my community would have to be Kanentokon Hemlock, a kanienkeha teacher that taught me for 3 years at Kahnawake Survival School. He’s class room was a place filled with storytelling, whether it were told stories from our peoples past or present stories just to start a conversation. I’ve learned many stories from him that I’ll never forget.

    Like

  6. Kenyon DEER says:

    There isn’t really any story tellers in my family. Most of them aren’t traditional nor do they talk about themselves much. I can’t speak for my dads side of the family though, I don’t talk to them much. For my community however one story teller is River McComber. He co-hosts a radio show 6-7pm on Thursday nights where he tells stories about our culture and history. His stories are to educate the people in our own community and surrounding communities about our culture and history.

    Like

  7. savannah says:

    The main story teller in my family would be my father. Mainly because whenever my family and I went camping, which is quite often, my siblings and I would beg for a story most nights due to him experiencing a lot in his life and how he always seems to have a story to tell from his time in the bush, where he’d hear elders tell him many stories while growing up. He had plenty stories, he’d tell us about elders and their struggles in the past and how they overcame them, and a few scary ones that still make me scared years after hearing them. A lot of his stories were meant as lessons, though not directly mentioned in the story, it was there. Lessons such as not to be afraid of what you don’t know, to stand by what you believe in, etc.

    A story teller in my community I feel would be Thomas, the current chief. His stories orbit mainly around his life, such as how he saw and helped with making my community grow into what it is today, how he felt disconnected from his culture in his youth, etc. He uses his stories as a way to encourage the youth in my community to continue to fight and to work for what they feel is right.

    Like

  8. River Flow McComber says:

    In my family there are two story tellers, my father and my eldest brother. My fathers talks about his youth and the social differences compared to present day Kahnawa:ke, as well as the harsh lessons he got from my grandfather. My brother Jamie has more energetic story just about his past experiences with his friends. They both use humour when telling a story, or to put it naturally, they tell funny stories.

    Though they have different personalities, the way the go about telling their stories with such enthusiasm is inherent. They captivate their listeners with humour, as you see throughout Kanien’keha:ka story tellers, and people in general.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Tehonerahtathe Beauvais says:

    I don’t really have any story terllers in my family, in my family there is just the occasional story about what they had did or something that happened aroiund them. In my community tho Kanentokon Hemlock is a very good speaker and he can tell lots of them about our history and culture. He has gone many places to tell our stories and has been places to tell our story of The Great Law. He mostly informs other people about who we are and he tries to show as much meaning as he can when reciting a story.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

