Homework 5: Storytelling

Think of a story you know that you relate to particularly in some way. It could be a traditional story, movie, novel, comic, rap, or anything else. Why do you feel connected to this story? Extended deadline: next Thursday, September 22.

About susanbriscoe

English teacher, writer
This entry was posted in Homework. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Homework 5: Storytelling

  1. Nick_Styres17 says:

    This show I relate to is Naruto Uzumaki, an adolescent ninja who constantly searches for recognition and dreams to become the Hokage, the ninja in his village who is acknowledged as the leader and the strongest of all. After getting a nine-tailed demon fox sealed in him he is secluded from the village and is looked as a monster. 12 years goes by as the boy grows up with his “best buddy” Sauske Uchiha who has turned evil and left the village, Naruto tries his hardest to be as strong as he can to catch up and stop the evil prodigy from going on any further. In this I relate to him because I’m always striving my best to be acknowledged in my community and to become the best at what I do if its either sports or in the medical field, I will be known!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. karahkwinetha says:

    Sage Goodleaf-Labelle
    September 13, 2016

    I think the movie I relate most with would have to be, Divergent by Victoria Roth.Lebelma on blog IMDb writes this synopsis :
    “In a futuristic Chicago, society is divided into 5 factions. Abnegation the selfless, Dauntless the brave, Erudite the intelligent, Candor the honest, and Amity the peaceful. When all teenagers reach the age of 16, they must choose to either stay in their faction of birth, or transfer into another faction. Beatrice Prior must make the decision tostay with her family in a faction she feels she isn’t right for, or to transfer into another faction, and leave her family behind. What follows is a highly competitive initiation, where the newly renamed Tris must make some tough decisions, but she must also keep a secret that she was warned could mean death, while she juggles friends, initiation, and a newfound love interest. But there is a secret lying beneath everything that threatens to tear the city apart.”
    Apart from the ending where Tris is to physically battle for her life, I found that I could really relate to this movie because of how we are always trying to figure out who we are. We, as a society, love to categorize objects into various groups. However, we never truly understand that none of us ever fit perfectly into the defined categories. It is impossible.
    On a personal level, people are always trying to categorize me under a certain group, be it my ethnicity, beliefs or even my likes and dislikes. The reasons for grouping us in categorizes are always funny, but sometimes they make you look and feel insignificant and kind of incompetent, especially when some categories clearly reflect thepreferred choice of society, like rich over poor.Stating that, how is it possible to categorize someone under a particular category? I know for myself, I am more than just one type of person, and my personality is a combination of many things, my environment and circumstances. I sometimes feel ruthless and dauntless, or other times I feel candor and sincere. But I know me, not everyone. In this way, I relate well to the main character, Tris, who challenges the whole concept of the factions, because she is “Divergent”. Besides, who else can tell you what and where you should go, other than yourself?

    Like

  3. Kenyon Deer says:

    A story that I would connect to would have to be “The egg” by Andy Weir. I’m sure you’ve read the story before. It’s a short story about the meaning of life and how man is destined for something greater in the grand scheme of things. I feel connected to this story because at the beginning the protagonist dies, but is later reborn into another life. I feel a connection to this because I find the constant need to start fresh with my life. I feel like a new beginning would be wonderful. Of course the story could also be used as an analogy for experience and perspective. Which of course I also feel a mild connection to. I love hearing other peoples experiences and opinion on other things, I also wish I could experience more in my life time. I have the want, a need to see more, to experience more. Whats more inciting than the experience and knowledge of everyone who’s ever lived?

    Like

  4. River Flow McComber says:

    In our culture, a very important form of teaching youth and all the way to adults, is storytelling. This is because embedded in our stories are life lessons in the form of metaphor. The story I, and everybody can relate to is the Creation Story. Many different people within the story are faced with challenges related to grief, jealousy, power struggle, all things that connect to everybody in some way.

    Like

  5. Teho G. says:

    The story that I can relate to is the beginning of the creation story where sky woman is carrying that big sack of corn. Everytime she dropped the sack it just got heavier and heavier to pick it up. This relates to me because im naturally a lazy person so whenever i drop something i find it heavier to pick up again and start again. One day I hope that i never have to drop anything ever again

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Teioshontathe McGregor says:

    I feel like I’m one of those “new high school student” you see in every movie, mainly because sometimes I try to fit in everywhere. I don’t like to be an outcast or someone who doesn’t have a social life, it’s nice to have friends and people to talk with, the world would be very lonely if nobody talked to each other. I used to have a hard time fitting in anywhere, I didn’t know if anyone was making fun of how I dressed or how I looked or anything remotely to one of the “new girls” on movies when they first start school. I used to be a shy person, the one thing that really changed that was my boyfriend. He has opened me up to socialize, even though I wasn’t as shy as him, it still feels nice to know someone cares about you when you don’t think anybody does.

    Like

Leave a Reply

